Zucchini Madness

When Jeff served his first church in Central Wisconsin, a member with a green thumb told me, “Any idiot can grow zucchini.” It’s true that the hardy little squash develops well in most climates–even that of Northern Arizona.

But I’m an agricultural pessimist by nature, so when I was planting my garden this year, I planted 4-5 zucchini hills, because what if they didn’t grow, right? And of course, they grew. And now, I’m swamped by slender green squash. My kitchen counter has had a pile of them in place for weeks–the individuals change, but the size of the pile seems constant.

I have made nearly every possible recipe containing zucchini, and I’ve included zucchini in a number of dishes that didn’t call for it at all.  I have multiple loaves of pineapple-zucchini bread in the freezer and jars of zucchini relish in the cupboard. Zucchini haunts my dreams and turns my scrambled eggs green. It’s getting ridiculous.

The other day I told Jeff I was simply going to pull out three of the plants and get things back in balance. He looked at me like I’d suggested an abortion, so I think I’ll be processing the squash til we leave for vacation in September. And now the tomatoes are ripening! You gardeners out there will relate. I’m a little overwhelmed. A lot overwhelmed, actually. Wondered why the blog’s been spotty lately? Yep. The zucchini did it!

One of the good things about  zucchini madness is that I have found a number of wonderful recipes that include it. My daughter sent me a recipe from one of her cookbooks (sorry that I can’t give credit where it is due–I never saw the book’s cover) that has become this year’s absolute favorite. I thought I’d share it with you today, since at the beginning of this blog some months back, I promised an occasional recipe. If you have zucchini madness at your house, it will definitely help.

Tortellini Sausage Soup

1 pound sausage (I used mild Italian sausage)

1 large onion, sliced

2 cloves garlic

3-14 ounce cans of beef broth

2-14 ounce cans diced tomatoes

1-8 ounce can tomato sauce

1 cup dry red wine, optional

2 diced carrots

1 T. sugar

2 tsp. Italian seasoning

1 diced zucchini

1-9 ounce package cheese tortellini

Brown sausage with onion and garlic. Add broth, tomatoes, tomato sauce, wine (if used), carrots, sugar, seasoning and zucchini. Simmer at least 30 minutes; vegetables should be tender. Add cheese tortellini and simmer for 10 minutes more. Serve. Sprinkle each bowl with parmesan or asiago cheese (I used some shreds of monterrey jack, as that’s what I had in the house). So, so good!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Howard on August 24, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    In a recently declassified document relating to the Rosewell UFO incident it has been found that the alien creatures initially observed at the site immediately morphed into Zucchini squash. The current theory is that they readily proliferate in that form. Women injesting these squash reportedly have found that their spouses assume the shape and mentality of the squash.

    Reply

  2. I’m not sure that I should comment on this one–but I can see where it came from!

    Reply

Share your thoughts. . .

