Life in Radiator Springs

    Ever seen the movie Cars? The majority of the action takes place in Radiator Springs, a former boomtown now An old car marks the former site of Route 66gone bust because the freeway bypassed it to save ten minutes of driving time. You probably giggled over the silly hick cars and the Cozy Cone Motel in Radiator Springs during the movie. But you may not have known that Radiator Springs had a real town (or a series of them) as its inspiration–or at least that’s what my neighbors tell me. And as of January 4, 2012, I live there. I’m told Radiator Springs actually grew out of the sad story of Holbrook, Arizona, a former hot spot on Route 66 but now a backwater community of just over 5000 because of the decision to build I-40 and bypass the town. And those Cozy Cones?  Yep, they’re here. If I drive a block from my house, turn left and head down the hill to the business district, I see the Wigwam Motel a few blocks away, teepees and all.

     Holbrook is small, of course, and no one would call it prosperous, but like Radiator Springs, it’s a friendly town with people willing to come alongside with support and encouragement. Outsiders sometimes think nothing happens in a small town, and in some ways, that’s empirically demonstrable. If you look closer, though, there’s a lot happening. Quite often on this blog, we’ll focus on what’s happening here in Radiator Springs. Maybe you live in a big city and have lived there all your life. Maybe you now live in an urban area, but you grew up in a small town. Maybe you, too, are a small town resident–happy about that fact or not. Whoever you are, I think you’ll enjoy the stories.

Because I’m a writer as well as a small town resident, part of the blog will also focus on other writers and writing. Because I’m an active Lutheran Christian, we’ll talk also about small town churches and their place in the Kingdom. And because I love to cook, eat, and talk about food, we’ll occasionally spend a day on that topic. Come on and join me, At Home in Holbrook. New entries will normally be posted each Wednesday.

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tom on March 28, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    First!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jeni on March 28, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    I love it, Mary! I look forward to reading this and having this “connection” to you and Pastor. And by the way – I’ve been there and took a picture of that same car! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Angie Werner on April 4, 2012 at 3:46 am

    Will certainly enjoy following your blog! Blessings, smiles and a big hug!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Paul Smale on April 4, 2012 at 8:16 am

    Can’t wait for more entries!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Brad Asche on April 18, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    We’ve been through Holbrook. As soon as we saw Cars, we thought it had to be inspiration for the movie. Wish I could have traveled Route 66 in it’s hay day.

    Reply

    • I’ve thought that same thing. At the Petrified Forest National Park, they have a film that shows some of the scenes of this area during prime time for Rte 66. Very interesting. Holbrook Courthouse also has a number of pictures. You can certainly see the difference.

      Reply

  6. Posted by barbahrah on April 18, 2012 at 3:07 pm

    I have lived in Holbrook, it IS a very nice little town. The only flaw is that teenagers have very little to do – maybe Jeff can change that! 😀

    Reply

    • Well, if anyone can….though our church is not rich in teenagers. He has a confirmation class of one right now. I will say that that particular teen is getting a wonderful, one-on-one confirmation experience!

      Reply

  7. Posted by A. Duenas on May 2, 2012 at 11:23 pm

    Just going through and reading all you post again 🙂 I can’t way to see it for my self!

    Reply

Share your thoughts. . .

